Skip to Content
No Fee Unless We Win
(844) 982-2667

Alaskan Senator Lisa Murkowski Sponsors Never Forget the Heroes Act

April, 2019

Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) has once again agreed to support 9/11 victims. Senator Murkowski voted for the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010, sponsored its 2015 reauthorization, and now sponsors the Never Forget the Heroes: Permanent Authorization of the 9/11 Victim Compensation Fund Act (S. 546) (“Never Forget the Heroes Act“). Senator Murkowski joins Republican Senators Senator Blunt joins Republican Senators Roy Blunt (R-MO), Susan Collins (R-ME), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Jerry Moran (R-KS).

The Never Forget the Heroes Act, if passed, would:

  • Permanently fund the 9/11 Victim Compensation Fund (9/11 VCF)
  • Extend the deadline beyond 2020 to 2090
  • Roll back the recently announced 50 to 70% compensation cuts
  • Pay claimants in full if they received awards that were cut due to the funding crisis
  • Return to paying claimants in full going forward

Senator Murkowski’s steadfast support to 9/11 victims is notable in light of the relatively small number of victims in Alaska which is home to less than thirty confirmed 9/11 victims. Senators from states which much larger populations of confirmed 9/11 victims have not yet agreed to sponsor the Never Forget the Heroes Act. Below is a list of Senators from states with a large constituency of confirmed 9/11 victims who have not yet agreed to sponsor the Never Forget the Heroes Act. (The number listed next to each name is approximate total number of 9/11 victims.)

Click here to find out if your Member of Congress support the Never Forget the Heroes Act. If they do, thank them. If they don’t, ask for their support.